September 17, 2024

Dear Fellow Crescent Lake Property Owners,

The 2024 Annual Meeting of the Crescent Lake District was held on Saturday August 31 at the Crescent Town Hall. We continue to have good Annual Meeting turnout and appreciate everyone who attended. During our public comment session everyone who wished to express their feelings or concerns about Crescent Lake had their opportunity.

Our 3 primary objectives for the meeting were:

- 1) Provide an update on the Eurasian Water Milfoil expansion.
- 2) Approve the 2025 budget and tax levy.
- 3) Elect new commissioners.

EWM Update

Terry Goldbach, our invasive species response team leader, shared the latest lake survey maps compiled by White Water Associates after their early August Lake survey. Unfortunately, the results and maps indicated a continued expansion of EWM in Crescent Lake, especially in the north end of the lake along the highway 8 boat landing. The maps also indicated the expansion southward along the shorelines from the landing. White Water Associates also found spotty areas of EWM throughout the lake. This update was disappointing news to everyone in attendance. Rest assured the CLD commissioners and response team will continue our efforts in numerous ways to gain a favorable agreement with the DNR for 2025 treatment.

2025 Budget and Tax Levy

Our proposed 2025 budget was overwhelmingly approved. The plan includes a 50% reduction in taxpayer levy for 2025 due to the carryover of unspent funds from the two prior years. However we believe with the continued EWM expansion, a larger chemical treatment expense will be necessary in the future, and we feel it is wise to be prepared to handle it financially.

Election of New Commissioners

The current CLD commissioners proposed expanding our elected commissioners from 3 to 5 and the vote passed unanimously. This was recommended to expand resident input, spread the workload, and help with commissioner succession planning. The two new commissioners elected were Dennis Southworth and Suzanne Mooney, and current commissioner Tim Kilgore was re-elected to a 2nd term.

The slate of CLD commissioners for 2025 are:

Tim Kilgore – Chairman
Jim Solinsky – Treasurer
Dave Schwanz – CBCW Coordinator
Dennis Southworth – at large
Suzanne Mooney – at large
Maria Rudesill – Secretary (Crescent Town appointee)
Linnaea Newman – (Oneida County Supervisor appointee)

You are always welcome at our Crescent Lake District meeting. You can find the full meeting minutes and future meeting dates at our website www.crescentlakedistrict.com or contact any commissioner with your questions.

Tim Kilgore - Chairman